Is Buckwheat Gluten-Free? Does Buckwheat contain Gluten?

Why Buckwheat isn’t entirely Gluten-Free

Is Buckwheat Gluten-Free? Does Buckwheat contain Gluten?
Is Buckwheat Gluten-Free? Does Buckwheat contain Gluten?

When it comes to thinking if Buckwheat contains wheat, we all try to recall starting from a paleo diet to a vegan diet. And now, a gluten-free diet also appears in several searches since many of us are affected by gluten intolerance, which directs to probing the status of Buckwheat. That for sure takes everyone aback in scare in trying to fit a gluten-free diet. Keep reading to find out is Buckwheat gluten-free or not.

Don’t be mistaken by the term from now onwards because it doesn’t necessarily bear any connection with wheat whatsoever!

It’s actually a seed and not a grain like wheat. Therefore, roasted buckwheat groats or kasha also comes under gluten-free content.

All about Buckwheat

Buckwheat and wheat, in fact, hail from different botanical families. Buckwheat seeds are technically the fruit of a plant called Fagopyrum esculentum, whereas wheat berries come ripe from plants as seeds in genus Triticum.

Buckwheat is actually grown for its seeds, which is sometimes referred to as a “pseudocereal.” To process it into food, the seeds are ought to be removed first. Then the residual content, known as groats, is ground into flour for consumption.

But why Buckwheat isn’t entirely Gluten-Free

It’s not any miracle that Buckwheat can contain gluten! It is processed under similar conditions like gluten-containing grains. For instance, if one is using the same equipment on which wheat, barley, and rye are treated, gluten grains might come in contact with the final buckwheat product.
Hence, one should stick to “gluten-free” buckwheat flour or buckwheat groats to be labeled safe from cross-contamination while processing.

Additionally, gluten-free cereals, baked goods, and other products contain Buckwheat as a popular ingredient, while not every product containing Buckwheat can be tagged to be gluten-free. It Looks ironic enough, though. The reason is again, cross-contamination. Hence, it’s recommended that one should always run eyes on the labeled ingredients before buying any buckwheat product unless you see the label of “gluten-free.”

Benefits of eating Buckwheat

Buckwheat comes plump in protein, B vitamins, besides being rich in phosphorus, potassium, iron, calcium, and lysine and fiber.

Nutritional value

For your information, one cup of cooked buckwheat groats contains 17 grams of dietary fiber with 22 grams of protein!

Ideally, one should have 25 to 35 grams of fiber on a daily basis.

The general problem roots its origin from “gluten-free” foods, which come devoid of fiber usually. In that case, Buckwheat can fetch one’s requirement by checking the cholesterol levels.

Popular Uses of the Buckwheat

Buckwheat flour can be used in cooking while groats can be consumed as breakfast cereal served hot, preferably. It also works as a substitute in place of rice or pasta in certain dishes.
Its high time, to give a healthy start to your food habit with Buckwheat!


Also Read: Is Popcorn Gluten-Free? Does Popcorn Have Gluten or not? 

For all the Healthy Food updates, follow Wat-Not on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Robert Downey Jr maintains secrecy about his appearance in Scarlett Johansson's Black Widow

Robert Downey Jr maintains secrecy about his appearance in Scarlett Johansson’s Black Widow

Is Barley Gluten Free? Does Barley Have Gluten or not?

Is Barley Gluten-Free? Does Barley Have Gluten Or Not?