Popcorn is nothing but puffed up corn kernels. Whether popcorn is gluten-free or not can only be known in terms of the original product i.e. corn.
Does Popcorn Have Gluten Or Not?
Plain corn or regular air-popped kernels- both are gluten-free. Then how come a popcorn can contain gluten? It seems not, isn’t it?
The twist in the story lies in the added flavour or toppings. A few brands sacrifice the concern of gluten-free finished products while others don’t! but you need to know about all of them.
Facts About Branded Popcorns
Corn is a gluten-free grain, safe for all to eat in idle hours or heavy monotonous schedules. While popcorn kernels are gluten-free, not all ready-made popcorns bought from stores can assure you on the same. The problem is rooted in its processing, subject to cross-contamination with gluten-containing ingredients.
Fortunately, well-known popcorn brands carry a “gluten-free” label on their product lines to prevent impulsive and uninformed purchasing decisions. It presents transparency between the buyer and seller in a nutshell so that one doesn’t need to run for a query in the kiosk later on.
Tips To Guide You In Buying Gluten-Free Popcorn
1. The first step that one should follow for a safe purchase is to read the label mentioning the product’s ingredients. If you come across any allergen warning – check the product content, specifically if it mentions wheat as the primary source.
2. Try to find the tag “gluten-free” for confirmation.
Things You Need To Know About Brands
Really a few brands exist that one should pay heed to. Seasoned (white or yellow) or organic popcorn tops the list in misguiding you as gluten-free snacks. It’s definitely better to go by the concern then, rather than being sorry afterwards.
Also Read: Is Farro Gluten-Free?
What About Movie Theater Popcorn?
Munching popcorn and enjoying movie time with your family or friends or going for a movie date only for a bucket full of cheesy, creamy and caramel popcorn, bucks the trend in a snapshot.
The centre of attraction in both the cases happens to be the theatre popcorn to reward you with the best cherishing memories or count on your refreshing weekend holidays. But how far movie halls are familiar in selling gluten-free popcorns?
The buttery topping comprising of cooking oil and popcorn salt might not be free from dairy or soy, abstaining from the overall concept of gluten-free. Besides, you are simultaneously exposed to a slight risk of cross-contamination from packaged goods like candy and snacks.
Being crucially sensitive to gluten, the safest precaution will be to avoid movie theatre popcorns entirely.
For Healthy Food updates, follow Wat-Not on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram