Oats are defined as a highly nutritious grain that comes with numerous health benefits. And that undoubtedly finds mention as a popular breakfast porridge. Also, they’re found in granola, muesli, snacks, and other foods. Keep reading to find out is oatmeal gluten-free.
But what about those with celiac sensitivity?
In most cases, celiac affected individuals are allowed to eat oats. But at the same time, it should also be noted that a small percentage of people with celiac disease and non-celiac gluten sensitivity bear the chance of reacting to avenin, the protein found in oats.
Now the most commonly asked question of whether oatmeal is gluten-free or not is answered below.
Gluten-Free Cookies: Easy To Make Best Gluten-Free Cookies Recipe
What’s the problem with gluten?
Gluten happens to be a family of proteins found in popular grains like wheat, rye, and barley which constitute the stretchy, chewy texture in bread and pasta. Most people can consume gluten without any noticeable side effects, but on the other hand, they might be responsible for serious health problems in some individuals causing digestive problems. The reason behind it is the unique amino acid structure that hinders the digestive enzymes.
How to avoid it?
One must be careful enough not to overdo any oatmeal until they’re familiar with the reaction. Therefore, a precautionary discussion with the doctor will anyhow highlight the possible side effects.
Why Isn’t All Oatmeal Gluten-Free?
Pure oats and pure oatmeal are gluten-free. But what everyone might be wondering is its relation with gluten. You can’t connect both, isn’t it?
The problem lies in the sources of cross-contamination which starts during cultivation and is carried on through processing. Most farmers and food processors who grow and handle oats also grow gluten-containing grains. They use the same equipment in farming, transportation and storage thus posing the risk of winding a minimal amount of gluten into the final product.
Besides, weather conditions, other environmental factors, can also change the amount of contamination in a product varying from season to season. Oatmeal which commonly comes in other flavours or varieties with added fruits, veggies or spice faces similar risks of gluten contamination.
The standard set forth by FDA for a “Gluten-Free” stamp on food products is 19 parts per million of grains containing gluten.
Note, the companies selling certified gluten-free oatmeal use oats free from gluten cross-contamination.
Which Brands of Oatmeal Are Gluten-Free?
For those who can tolerate oats, a variety of different gluten-free-certified oatmeal can be explored from the box:
Bob’s Red Mill
For Your Information
Some companies that generally sell gluten-free products, however, also manufacture oatmeal which is not certified as gluten-free. Hence, always double-check labels before assuming their safety.
In addition, some oats are more toxic to people with celiac disease.
Follow Wat-Not on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Pinterest.
One CommentLeave a Reply
Thank you for the nice write up about gluten-free oatmeal. I am always in search of gluten-free food for my family and now I can add something new to my kitchen.