For every cheese lover, cheese is the last word for any dish. A simple menu of bread toast turns out to be tasty and delightful with the addition of a moderate amount of cheese. Such charming is the magic of cheese. It acts as a perfect condiment for your toast, sandwich, burgers, or soups. Obviously, you can’t think of your pizzas without cheese. Now, here we are analyzing a particular character of the cheese. Gluten, a special type of protein, is commonly traceable in wheat, rye, barley, and similar kinds of cereals. This protein is harmful to many people. We need to know whether cheese have Gluten or not. Let’s find out is cheese gluten-free?
Is Cheese Gluten-free
Cheese is mainly made from milk and normal milk lacks gluten. Thus most of the cheese is gluten-free. Manufacturers at times combine other ingredients to create various processed cheese variants. On the way to the markets, in farms, in grocery stores, and even in restaurants there are chances of contamination. Thus, it’s safe to study the labels of the products carefully. Cross-check the labels, especially of the processed ones and also that of the cheese-based products.
Which types of cheese contain gluten?
Now if you are in a supermarket looking out for processed American cheese, powdered cheese, cheese sauce, cheese spreads, spray can cheese, and similar other cheese products, then study the labels which will help you to detect the presence of gluten. You also need to know the ways. In certain varieties, gluten is present in the form of thickener to extend the shelf life of the product.
If you come across vinegar on the labels, then make sure about the type of vinegar. If malt vinegar is used then it has gluten. Again, fat-enriched cheese is normally free from gluten. But if it is packaged with products of wheat or cheese straws then there are maximum chances of gluten contamination.
Stay aware if you come across the mention of the following ingredients in the labels. These items are hidden resources of gluten – Wheat, Malt, natural or artificial flavor or color, cellulose (powdered), food starch, thickeners, emulsifiers, and so on.
Which types of cheese are Gluten-free?
Now it’s hard to stay away from cheese due to gluten. Now, as we know that other than cross-contamination cheese is normally gluten-free. Take a note of the variants of cheese are gluten-free in particular. Cheddar, Parmesan, Swiss, feta, ricotta- are few pure and popular cheese forms. These are also safe grades and don’t have gluten in them.
Avocado is a natural non-dairy alternative to cheese. Sandwiches, burgers, and salads actually taste good. Yeast is yet another non-dairy substitute for cheese.
For Healthy Food updates, follow Wat-Not on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram